National Energy Efficiency Awards 2019

National Council or Local Authority of the Year

sponsored by


Nominations for this award are open to any Council or Local Authority body that meets the following criteria:-

The nominee must be a recognised Local Authority or Council, or a Department, Group or Body controlled (either wholly or partially) by a council or local authority

The nominated body must have undertaken energy efficiency projects for the local community within the period between January 2017 and March 2018.

Work completed in previous years may be used as additional supporting information for nomination, but only work carried out within the period is eligible for inclusion in the main nomination statement.

Nominees must provide a clear nomination statement outlining what sets them apart within their field, and demonstrating clear energy savings achieved.

The nominee must be able to provide evidence of a customer from within the region who is willing to endorse their work with a favourable testimonial statement.

Judges will consider the nature, scale and scope of the work carried out, and a special emphasis will be placed on any successful integration of any Local or National Government Energy Efficiency schemes in the nominee's projects.

The judges will also look at:
- the impact their work has had within the local community.
- what their customers and local community have to say about the council
- what level of expertise the council has within its own teams
- what priority the council gives tackling fuel poverty within its current plans


The following have been nominated for consideration for this award:-

Powys County Councilnominated by New Direction (Energy & Financial Ltd)
Liverpool City Council
Middlesborough City Councilnominated by Pacifica Group Ltd
Vale of Glamorgan Councilnominated by Soltherm External Insulations Limited
Ceredigion Councilnominated by E.ON Energy Solutions
Hartlepool Borough Councilnominated by E.ON Energy Solutions
Runnymede Councilnominated by Insulated Homes Ltd
North Lanarkshire Councilnominated by Procast Building Contractors Ltd
Portsmouth City Council

Previous Winner

The previous winner of this award in 2018 was

Dundee City Council

nominated by SSE Energy Solutions & Alsecco (UK) Limited
Dundee City Council,2018 Council / Local Authority of the Year, collecting their award from Sir Lenny Henry and sponsor, Engie Regeneration

Second: Aberdeen Council

Third: Northumberland County Council

Third: Worcestershire County Council

Special Commendation: Leeds City Council

Special Commendation: Norwich City Council

Special Commendation: Liverpool City Council - Healthy Homes

Special Commendation: North Tyneside Council

Special Commendation: Wrexham County Borough Council

How to Enter the Awards

Entering an award is very simple, all you have to do is complete the online nomination forms for your chosen award category.

To get the nomination forms you need, all you have to do is contact the awards administration team either by using the enquiry form on this page, or by calling 01691 650 390, and paying the £50 (+VAT) entry fee.

General Awards Entry Criteria

The National Energy Efficiency Awards, are open to anyone involved in the Energy Saving and Efficiency sector in the UK

The purpose of the Awards is to recognise best practice within the industry so the judges will be looking for demonstrable skills, expertise and quality of service from nominees.

Applicants can either nominate themselves, their company, someone else or a company they feel deserves the recognition of the industry.

The nominee must have been involved with an energy efficiency project of some kind within the 14 months from January 2018 to March 2019.

For most categories of award, an involvement in ESOS, Green Deal, ECO or RHI projects during the period is desirable. However, for those categories not related to Green Deal,ECO or RHI please see the specific criteria and entry requirements for those Awards.

Enquiry Form

Please complete the form below to register your interest in the Energy Efficiency Awards