North East Energy Efficiency Awards 2020

Regional Energy Efficiency Champion of the Year

Sponsored by

Award Category Description

The 2020 Regional Energy Efficiency Champion of the Year Award rewards one exceptional individual, in each of the 11 Regional areas around the UK, that has shown a true commitment to promoting energy efficiency within their region.

This award recognises the efforts of that individual and seeks to thank them for their service to their local community.

Works on residential, industrial or commercial properties are all eligible for entry provided they meet the nomination criteria.


Nominations for this award are open to any individual that meets the following criteria:-

The nominee must be either based in or have worked on projects within the nominated region.

Work carried out in other regions may be used as additional supporting information for nomination, but only work carried out within the region is eligible for inclusion in the main nomination statement.

Nominees must provide a clear nomination statement outlining what sets them apart within their field, and demonstrating clear energy savings achieved.

The nominee must be able to provide evidence of a customer from within the region who is willing to endorse their work with a favourable testimonial statement.

Judges will consider the nature, scale and scope of the work carried out, and a special emphasis will be placed on any successful integration of any Local or National Government Energy Efficiency schemes in the nominee's projects.

The judges will also look at:
- the impact their work has had within the local community.
- what their customers and local community have to say about them
- what level of expertise the nominee has

Nominees for this award

Scott Borthwick

nominated by Borthwick Heating

Theresa Roe

nominated by Energy Surveys EPC North East Ltd

Bryan Glendinning

nominated by Engenera Renewables

Steve Crump

nominated by J&J Crump & Son Ltd

David Hutchinson

nominated by Electek Solutions Ltd


The winner of this award is

Prize being presented to Bryan Glendinning
photo from North East Energy Efficiency Awards 2020
Bryan Glendinning

they were nominated by Engenera Renewables

Also recognised were
Highly Commended: Steve Crump
Commended: Scott Borthwick